Who Are Doing Quadruple Salchow?

I wanted to write this loooooooooooong ago when the news of Gracie doing 4S spread out. But I was just too lazy to start writing… Today when I saw the video of the 10-year-old kid Stephen Gogolev at Cricket Club landed a 4S, I felt I cannot wait any longer. So below list is based on my past interviews, self-claim principle, a list of skaters who are doing 4S in training but not (yet) in competition.

Denis Ten: has it for a while, is landing it consistently in training, at one time was considering to put it in LP at the Worlds, is looking forward to doing it in competition in next or next next season.

6942b829jw1eqpx59jixcj21kw16oai7

Takahito Mura: has it for a long time, in order to be more competitive for a spot on the podium, is aiming to do it in competition next season.

Joshua Farris: has it for more than one year, but didn’t feel it right to put it in program in the middle of season, not so sure if will debut it in competition in near future.

Han Yan: is practicing but not so consistent, not likely to put it in competition any time soon, but said it is the direction every top man is heading to, so at least need to practice.

Shoma Uno: is trying it when he feels he is in a good physical condition during training, but not intentionally or regularly practicing it yet, will start the real-deal training for a second quad in the summer.

Gracie Gold: is looking into 3A and 4S, not sure if is practicing it on a regular basis.

About fswei

My name is Wei, I have multiple identities, one being a freelance figure skating reporter. I don't work as a full-time reporter/writer, neither am I dedicated to figure skating. I've been reporting and writing on sports for different media since almost 10 years ago, but I only started to go to figure skating events as press from 2014, so I am new in this area. I speak native Chinese, fluent English and Japanese, and so-so Spanish, and that's why I started to receive offers from media to go to figure skating events in Asia. You can find me on Twitter https://twitter.com/pandaatlarge for English/Japanese figure skating related tweets. You may also drop me a question on http://ask.fm/pandaatlarge :)

Leave a Reply

