A Pearl Dropped In The Ocean

“A pearl dropped in the ocean” is a Chinese expression which is used to describe unnoticed or undiscovered talent. Here I use this expression to name my blog, because this blog aims to publish the great quotes and informative Q&A I came across during figure skating events, which somehow didn’t get deserved amount of attention, or didn’t get published at all.

The quotes and Q&As are from events I went as a freelance reporter from current season (2014/15), including Cup of China, Four Continents, World Championships and upcoming World Team Trophy. Basically they come from mixed zone interviews, press conferences, exclusive interviews, and group interviews arranged by JSF (known as “Ichiyaake” – interview over night). Sometimes I asked questions that did not fit into article, or were removed by editor, or were decided by the media I work with not to run report/article on the skater(s). That’s how these great quotes and Q&As became the “dropped pearls”.

Hope you enjoy picking them up.

P.S. Maybe just a brief introduction of myself. My name is Wei, I have multiple identities, one being a freelance figure skating reporter. I don’t work as a full-time reporter/writer, neither am I dedicated to figure skating. I’ve been reporting and writing on sports for different media since almost 10 years ago, but this season is really the first season I started to go to figure skating events as press, so I am new in this area. I speak native Chinese, fluent English and Japanese, and so-so Spanish (listening and reading is much better, but not good at speaking or writing), and that’s why I started to receive offers from media to go to figure skating events in Asia. You can find me on Twitter https://twitter.com/pandaatlarge for English/Japanese figure skating related tweets 🙂

About fswei

My name is Wei, I have multiple identities, one being a freelance figure skating reporter. I don't work as a full-time reporter/writer, neither am I dedicated to figure skating. I've been reporting and writing on sports for different media since almost 10 years ago, but I only started to go to figure skating events as press from 2014, so I am new in this area. I speak native Chinese, fluent English and Japanese, and so-so Spanish, and that's why I started to receive offers from media to go to figure skating events in Asia. You can find me on Twitter https://twitter.com/pandaatlarge for English/Japanese figure skating related tweets. You may also drop me a question on http://ask.fm/pandaatlarge :)

Leave a Reply

